Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning and development. It is used as a guide for assessing children's development, from Birth to Five Years.
Prime Areas of Learning

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others, to form positive relationships and develop respect for others, to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings, to understand appropriate behaviour in groups, and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Communication and Language

  • Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment, to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Devlopment

  • Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Specific Areas of Learning


  • Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.


  • Numeracy involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, space and measures.

Understanding the World

  • Understanding the World involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts; ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role- play and design and technology.

Characteristics of Effective Learning


Children are born ready, able and eager to learn and they actively reach out to interact with other people. However, development is not an automatic process. It depends on each unique child having the opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments and it is important to remember that children develop at their own rates and in their own ways.

The four themes of the Early Years Foundation Stage help us as practitioners to support the children’s learning and development.

Playing and Exploring- Engagement


  • Finding out and exploring

  • Playing with what they know

  • Being willing to have a go


Active Learning- Motivation


  • Being involved and concentrating

  • Keeping trying

  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do


Creating and Thinking Critically- Thinking


  • Having their own ideas

  • Making links

  • Choosing ways to do things


Children develop quickly in the early years and we aim to do all we can to support each child in their individual development pathway.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now